skip to main content

  • Mount in Artsakh (Nagorno Karabakh)

  • Azat River Gorge

  • Lake Sevan

  • Mountain Eagle

  • Khachkars (Noraduz)

  • Dadivank Monastery (1st century AD)

At a Glance

Official Name:
Republic of Armenia - Hayastani Hanrapetutyun, Hayastan

Republic of Armenia is situated in the eastern part of the Armenian Plateau bounded north by the Republic of Georgia, east by Azerbaijan Republic, south by Islamic Republic of Iran and west by Turkish Republic

Presidential Republic

The Flag:
The State Flag is a rectangular panel with three equal horizontal stripes of red, blue and orange (from top to bottom)

The Coat of Arms:
It is a rendition of the Coat of Arms of the First Armenian Republic (1918-1920) designed by a member of Russian Academy of Fine Arts, architect Alexander Tamanyan and artist Hakob Kojoyan

The Anthem:
"Mer Hayreniq"/ "Our Fatherland" The Anthem of the Republic of Armenia was adopted on July 1, 1991, by the Supreme Soviet of the Republic of Armenia. It is based on the Anthem of the First Armenian Republic (1918-1920), though differing in lyrics. The author of the lyrics is poet Mikael Nalbandian

Yerevan, population - 1.1 million

3,215,000 (as of 2005)

Ethnic Groups:
Armenians (96%), Russians, Ukrainians, Yezdi, Kurds, Greeks, Assyrians, Jews, Ouds and others (4%)

29.74 thousand square kilometers
Average Altitude Above Sea Level: 1,800 meters
Highest Mountain Peak: Aragats (4,095 meters)

OFFICIAL: Eastern Armenian
OTHERS: Western Armenian, Russian, English, French, German, Kurdish, Greek, and Hebrew-Yiddish

Armenian Apostolic. The head of the church - the Catholicos of all Armenians resides in Echmiatsin.
OTHERS: Armenian Catholic, Armenian Protestant, Russian Orthodox, Jewish, Greek Orthodox, Assirian Nestorian

The value of Armenian national currency - Dram (AMD) - introduced in 1993